The Illinois School-Age Child Care Network (ISACCN) began with a retreat for school-age providers in Illinois in the late 80’s. The participating organizations discussed forming a “School-Age Network” that would connect providers throughout the state and provide activities in the areas of training, advocacy, program standards and worthy wages.  In the summer of 2004, the Board of Directors voted to change the name to the Illinois AfterSchool Network (IAN).

The Illinois AfterSchool Network (IAN) provides support to the after school and youth development field through professional development, leadership and networking opportunities. We are the state affiliate to the National AfterSchool Network with over 3500 members, Illinois NAA Ambassadors, parents/caregivers, strategic and national partners representing many sectors of the field for over 37 years. Moreover, we are developing LEADERS through QUALITY professional development opportunities!

We offer the following types of professional development events:

  • Annual statewide conference
  • Regional training
  • Distance learning training
  • Leadership series for Emergent and Seasoned professionals on a specific topic
  • First Time Supervisor’s Training
  • Roundtable Discussions with a focus on professional development
  • Parent Workshops (Parent Café Sessions, training, conference, etc.)
  • Specialized sessions to Family Child Care professionals who provide services to after school children in their home.
  • Customized training for organizations who are seeking to contract with us to offer training on a specific topic.

We work with a seasoned and professional group of over 120 trainers who facilitate professional development events specifically on afterschool and youth development topics.

Our Board of Directors are professionals, representing all regions of the state in which we have six active standing committees: Professional Development, Resource Development, Marketing & Membership, Finance & Governance. #AfterSchoolROCKSinIllinois

Past Presidents:
Chris Todd  1991
Sandy Davin   1991-1994
Joy Hodges  June – Sept 1994
Deb Wildrick (Nelson)  acting Sept 1994
Deb Wildrick-Nelson  1994 – 1997
Ken Rodd  1997 – 1999
Kim Hunt   1999 – 2001
Curtis Peace  2001 – 2002
Kim Hunt  pro tem 2002
Heather Marshall  2002-2003
Debbie Jaye  2004
Cindy Roope  2005
Betsy Jenkins  2006
Cindy Roope  2007-2008
Julie Dakers  2009-2010
Stacie Ealey  2010- 2013
Chris Bzdon 2013 – 2016
Stacie Ealey 2016 – 2017
Dale Hanstand July 2017 – 2018
Christy Allen 2018 – 2020
Kealy Schroeder 2020 – 2022 
Nichole Miller 2022 – Present