Richard Scofield was the owner of School Age Notes in Nashville, TN. Because of his countless contributions to the field of afterschool and expanded learning, and to honor him, we began recognizing afterschool professionals with the Richard Scofield Award. The purpose of this award is to recognize and elevate an individual who has made a significant impact in the field.

You may nominate someone for the Richard Scofield Award by downloading an application here.

Richard Scofield Recipients
2005 – Adam M. Alonso
2006 – Curtis L. Peace, Jr.
2007 – Noelia Roldan
2008 – Jolie Finkbiner
2009 – Valery Sheppard
2010 – Dave Robisch
2011 – Kathy Kloppenburg
2012 – Jill Bradley
2013 – Shelley Bromberek-Lambert
2014 – Dr. Guy Schumacher
2015 – Priscilla Steinmetz
2016 – Sandy Davin
2017 – Leonette Coates
2018 – Karrie Reuter
2019 – Susan Stanton
2020 – No Conference Held
2021 – Paula Short
2022 – Dr. Lolita Cleveland
2023 – Latasha Battie


The IAN Jill Bradley Best Practice Program Award recognizes an After School and/or Youth Development Program from the state of Illinois. Jill Bradley (1950-2020), was an amazing champion and passionate voice for children and youth. This special award is recognized for exemplary program practices and innovative program practices and services.  Recognition is awarded annually to a program who exhibits exemplary program excellence, serving as a model for all after school and youth development programs. Jill was a past board member; 2012 recipient of the Rich Scofield Award and Chair of Steering for Chicago MOST and was a National Trainer with the National Institute on Out-of-School Time in which she facilitated Leadership Training for state agencies and programs for more than 15 years. Jill is a mother of two beautiful daughters, Ginneh and Allena and one granddaughter Nina. Although her passion, dedication and voice will be greatly missed, her countless contributions to the profession will live in our memories forever.

You may nominate someone for the Best Practice Program Award by downloading an application here.

Best Practice Award Recipients
2010 Garden of Prayer Youth Center – Kankakee, Illinois
2011 North Lawndale YMCA – Chicago, Illinois
2012 Champions Program – Woodland School Dist #50 – Gages Lake, Illinois
2013 Christopher House – Logan Square Site – Chicago, Illinois
2014 Concordia Place – Chicago, Illinois
2015 Adventures in Learning – Chicago, Illinois
2016 – Erie Neighborhood House – Chicago, Illinois
2017 – Family Focus Lawndale, 21st CCLC Afterschool Program
2018 – Build Chicago
2019 – Boys and Girls Club of Southern Illinois, Carbondale, IL
2020 – No Conference Held
2021 – Gary Comer Youth Center – Chicago, Illinois
2022 – By the Hands Club for Kids – Moving Everest, Chicago, Illinois
2023 – Carole Robertson Center for Learning, Chicago, IL


The IAN Deb Nelson Board of Director’s Leadership Award is named in honor of Deborah Jolyn Wildrick Nelson who passed away in May of 2009, from complications in her battle with Lymphoma cancer at the age of 51. Deb was instrumental in the continued development of Illinois AfterSchool Network (IAN) during her terms as President of the Board of Directors from 1994 until 1997.
The IAN Deb Nelson Board of Director’s Leadership Award is awarded to a Board of Director, Member at Large or Regional Facilitator that goes beyond the call of duty in their specific region and serves as a role model to help expand services of afterschool and youth development throughout the state of Illinois.

Deb Nelson Award Recipient
2010 – Carole Franke
2011 – Stacie Ealey
2012 – Chris Bzdon
2013 – Tony Stahl
2014 – Carole Franke
2015 – Dale Hanstad
2016 – Sheila Henson
2017 – Queen Drake
2018 – Christy Allen
2019 – Stacie Ealey
2020 – No Conference Held
2021 – Camille Harmon
2022 – Deborah Rogers-Jaye
2023 – Nichole Miller


Janet Maruna
Dave Robisch
Linda Satterfield